Juliana Hatfield announces ELO cover album

Juliana Hatfield announces ELO cover album

Juliana Hatfield sings ELO releases November 17

Juliana Hatfield has announced a new addition to her cover album series. Juliana Hatfield sings ELO is out November 17 via American Laundromat Records, while his rendition of “Don’t Bring Me Down” is out now.

As indie rock royalty, it may come as a surprise that Hatfield enjoys the pop styles of Electric Light Orchestra. Still, you can easily trace its unmistakably catchy music to the band’s melodies. “ELO songs were always on the radio when I was growing up. They were a reliable source of enjoyment and fascination,” Hatfield said in a statement. “With this cover album, I wanted to get my hands on some of the hits massive 70s, but I’m also highlighting some of the later work… My task was to try to break all the things down and put them back together subtly. until they feel like mine.

Hatfield had to go into detail on “Don’t Bring Me Down” in order to put his own spin on the 1979 classic. The track “is such a solid build that trying to rework it at first felt like take a hammer to concrete,” she said. “I didn’t bother to match all the exact sounds and parts of the original, and we even dared a few cymbal crashes (the ELO version has a reputedly unchanging drum loop – no crashes – from start to finish). end).This is not a radical reinvention but it’s a little more sparkling.

Pre-orders for Juliana Hatfield sings ELO are in class. The LP will be available on CD, cassette and four different colors of vinyl, and a 7-inch limited edition will contain two songs not featured on the album: “I’m Alive” and “When I Was a Boy”. The project follows Hatfield’s other cover albums, 2018 Juliana Hatfield sings Olivia Newton-John and 2019 Juliana Hatfield sings the police.

In June, Hatfield will perform at the One Roof Concert for the Homeless in Northampton, MA, and in July she will play two nights at City Winery in New York.

Juliana Hatfield sings ELO Artwork:

Juliana Hatfield sings ELO List of tracks:
01. Sweet is the night
02. I can’t get it out of my head
03. Confrontation
04. Strange Magic
05. Don’t Get Me Down
06. Telephone line
07. Secret Messages
08. The Bluebird is Dead
09. End of the world
10. Ordinary dream

Juliana Hatfield 2023 Tour Dates:
06/17 – Northampton, MA @ One Roof Concert for the Homeless
07/28 – New York, NY @ City Winery (Nuggets 50th Anniversary)
07/29 – New York, NY @ City Winery (Nuggets 50th Anniversary)

Leave a Comment